Please email your own review to the editor. If any facts of the review are incorrect please contact the editor. This page was edited on 11 March 2005.

The Rose and Crown Inn

The Rose and Crown is placed directly overlooking the village green in the village of Nottage, it has a few parking spaces outside and two or three tables. The beer garden is enclosed on the left as you walk in and has three or four tables, the outside seating is unimportant because everyone sits on the green while the kids play football in the summer. Across the other side of the green is The Farmers Arms so drinkers from both pubs mingle.
The pub itself has a nice old feel to it and you will have to duck under the door frame if you are above average height, there is a small central room as you walk in with a bar and seating for ten, to the left is the larger bar with the television and gents.
To the right is the lounge with space for about thirty and access to the restaurant which is through the back.
The staff in the Rose are plentiful and very professional and friendly. The fact that they serve food all day always endears a pub to me because who knows when you might fancy a meal.
The meals are well priced and although not spectacular are tasty and quickly delivered.

The pub does have a reputation for an excellent Sunday carvery as well.
The pub is also a hotel and has eight rooms available.

My Opinion

Once when eating with a friend who happens to be a twelve year old boy, the staff forgot an order for pudding after we had eaten our main course, after fifteen minutes I reminded them and they apologised profusely, didn't charge for it and then produced a gigantic portion that almost caused my friend to explode attempting to finish it.

Although I enjoy the food it isn't the sort of place you get your plate and feel the need to say "bloody hell" to whoever is with you, there are a lot of pubs that will pile on the food for that wow factor knowing that it costs only pennies more. There seems to lack a little of the atmosphere of some pubs, with lots of tourist trade and the staff being efficient and friendly but not having that something else that some places seem to do with ease, possibly too efficient and a little cold. Add an open fire and a dog and i would probably completely change my mind.

Update

The Rose has had a turbulent year or two but seems to have settled down again now, I haven't eaten there since the new owners have taken residence but it seems to be well run and I will definately try it out again soon.

written : 11/03/2005

Ratings: 30 out of 50

Beer : 7

Food : 5

Atmosphere : 6

Service : 7

Facilities/Entertaiment : 5

Details

Heol-y-Cape, Nottage

Porthcawl

Bridgend

CF36 3ST

01656 784296

map

Comments

Superb pub/hotel. Having stayed and ate there for two nights, the whole experience was wonderful. Everything was to a high standard and good value for money. Can't wait to stay again. Stephanie 23/10/2011

by : Stephanie Sutcfliffe : 25/10/2011 19:10:28



A beautiful pub with excellent food served from a menu with plenty of choice for everyone, this is my new favorite place to go would recommend to anyone :) Only downfall was the lack of parking, but they can't really do anything about that due to the location - we parked a few streets away and walked to the pub, it was worth the walk.

by : Claire Lewis : 26/10/2010 10:13:41



I went for a drink recently and took one look at menu which was unimaginative. The whole place lack atmosphere and appeared dirty. Having said that we just left and went to opposite pub!

by : bobby : 17/11/2009 18:13:52



Absolutely love this pub, and the food is really gorgeous! Serice really friendly too. Have had both lunch and dinner ther, also Sunday carvery. Everything always perfect.

by : Caroel Bonham : 14/02/2009 15:53:19



Good venue for a nationalist convention maybe? Shave your heads and come on down...

by : Nick Griffin : 20/11/2008 21:02:50



What a let down. I have not been to the Rose and Crown since it was a carvery. Very disappointed with the menu choice - they have tried to make it upmarket with menu choices, but the food itself was absolutely diabolical! - just how wrong can you get ham egg & chips? - eggs were stone cold, complained, meal was taken back to the kitchen where the same eggs were put back on the gridle to warm up and meal reserved. Another member of the party had lamb with a crispy top - lamb reminded me of strips you have left over from carving a lunch, the crispy top I was told had the consistency of porridge - so much for crispy! Would never go there again, and also not recommend the food to anyone. 15/11/08

by : Lynne : 15/11/2008 21:51:27



What a let down. I have not been to the Rose and Crown since it was a carvery. Very disappointed with the menu choice - they have tried to make it upmarket with menu choices, but the food itself was absolutely diabolical! - just how wrong can you get ham egg & chips? - eggs were stone cold, complained, meal was taken back to the kitchen where the same eggs were put back on the gridle to warm up and meal reserved. Another member of the party had lamb with a crispy top - lamb reminded me of strips you have left over from carving a lunch, the crispy top I was told had the consistency of porridge - so much for crispy! Would never go there again, and also not recommend the food to anyone. 15/11/08

by : Lynne : 15/11/2008 21:50:32



What a let down. I have not been to the Rose and Crown since it was a carvery. Very disappointed with the menu choice - they have tried to make it upmarket with menu choices, but the food itself was absolutely diabolical! - just how wrong can you get ham egg & chips? - eggs were stone cold, complained, meal was taken back to the kitchen where the same eggs were put back on the gridle to warm up and meal reserved. Another member of the party had lamb with a crispy top - lamb reminded me of strips you have left over from carving a lunch, the crispy top I was told had the consistency of porridge - so much for crispy! Would never go there again, and also not recommend the food to anyone. 15/11/08

by : Lynne : 15/11/2008 21:48:48



Visited this lovely pub on 6th May 2007. Lovely food and surroundings but the thing that struck me above all else was the politeness of all the staff, especially when most of them were so young and that's pretty rare nowadays +++++

by : Nicola : 07/05/2007 16:59:05



Beautiful pub, lovely surroundings, excellent food, great service, friendly welcome - what more could you want ? HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

by : Fanshaw : 04/05/2007 14:53:01



These comments are not dated which makes it confusing since the management has turned over twice recently.

by : Stephanie Johnson : 19/03/2007 19:40:27



I felt compelled to search the internet to find a site like this one where I could publicly review the Rose and Crown in Nottage, Porthcawl. I came across the pub whilst visiting friends in the area, my family and I had the most wonderful meal - I am quite certain the chef has a bright future ahead of him. The service style was of note, friendly and efficient and the decor of the whole pub is charming. But, the last word must be for the chef, who's food sets the standard for the rest of the pub

by : George Stanway



I am not sure what public house David Jones, above, visited but it does not sound like "The Rose & Crown". Having travelled in business for a good many years now and staying in some of the top hotels, the country has to offer, I believe I am well versed when it comes to hotels and restaurants. The Rose and Crown did appear to be on the downward spiral and I for one took my business elsewhere. Then a colleague of mine advised me that new management were now at the helm. The reports were such that I had to experience this for myself. The biggest compliment I can give, is that I have stayed every single week since venturing back there. The place looks cleaner and fresher throughout and the food in the bar and restaurant is simply divine. The new "Rose and Crown" era has begun with more improvements on the way. The staff and management give a real warm reception and you leave with a desire to return having made many friends. My first choice would always be to stay at home, but if I have to go away on business, this is clearly the place to be. This inn is now of peerless quality and is a credit to the whole team there, keep it up.

by : Stuart



The rose and crown inn is a beutiful pub now. it has recentley been taken over by new people. I has got its homely feel back and the new people have put flowers back outside which makes it look like a pub to have a drink in. The staff and Landlord/Landlady are very friendly and would make you feel straight at home. The food is amazing and the deserts are to die for. The rooms are wonderful. A pub to recommend!

by : Ak



I have recently visited the Rose and Crown inn, Nottage, Porthcawl. It has been taken over by new people who are extremely friendly and who would make you feel straight at home. They have got a new chef who cooks wondelful food. And the deserts are to die for. The rooms are wonderful. Definately an inn to recommend.

by : Angharad



What the 'ell has happened to one of Porthcawls finest pubs! Having been brought up in Porthcawl I've been living in London this last 14 years. I popped home a few months ago and went for a pint at my favourite pub that I havent been to for some years. Its lost all its charm. Someone has tried to redecorate it in the most vile yellow colour inside and has tried to trendify it up with new leather sofas. This is an oldie worldie pub/hotel that doesnt suit change. The carvery used to be every night from 6pm till 10pm ...now its only on Sundays and the bar meals....you'd get better at a greasy spoon. Get a landlord that understands the old Rose and Crown and that actually cares about it. All in all it's totally lost the warm homely welcome it once had. It now looks a bit cheap!!!

by : David Jones



Add a comment

your name

your email

copy this code : 9CIKM your comments