Please email your own review to the editor. If any facts of the review are incorrect please contact the editor. This page was edited on 16 March 2005.

The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak is a medium sized pub with two entrances, one to the bar which is quite local and homely with a nice atmosphere. The other to the lounge which is a standard pub lounge with nothing to invite you to stay longer than you're food. The restaurant is out the back and can afford some privacy if you get the right seat. The menu is standard and not flashy but is reasonably prices and quite extensive as the pub is basically built around their food reputation.

My Opinion

Although many people will rave about The Royal Oak I have been there and received below quality steaks and gammon and if it were not for the fact that your extras are heaped upon you then I wouldn't return. There service there is excellent and they will try their best to accommodate you, usually, they are under a lot of pressure because of the high trade and can be abrupt at time. The landlord however is a different matter, he may run a good pub but is by no means a good landlord being rude, ignorant and sexist.

written : 16/03/2005

Ratings: 24 out of 50

Beer : 5

Food : 5

Atmosphere : 3

Service : 6

Facilities/Entertaiment : 5

Details

South Road

Porthcawl

Bridgend

CF36 3DH

01656 782684

map

Comments

We had our first Sunday lunch there a large and it was huge, we will be going back week after week, people that complain well what do YOU want for what they charge. I'm fussy but loved it

by : Jacquie c : 10/06/2013 09:05:27



I think you will find things have changed a lot since your visit in 2007 Mary A and it might be worth another look - I think you would be pleasantly surprised. Since the new landlady and her family arrived the whole pub has had a face-lift. The food is excellent, portions are huge and everything on the menu is very reasonably priced. The service is always first cl[swearing] and all the staff are friendly and cheerful. I don't go to Porthcawl very often, but when I do, this is my first choice for somewhere to eat.

by : John W : 08/02/2011 20:16:51



to 'B.PAULS' whoever you may be!... the kitchen is cleaned everynight and day after everyshift! mopped and swept.. all microwaves cleaned over! and the oil is change at least once a week on the cookers! & we stock freshh food everyweek thank you.

by : samantha long : 23/10/2010 14:15:31



to 'B.PAULS' whoever you may be!... the kitchen is cleaned everynight and day after everyshift! mopped and swept.. all microwaves cleaned over! and the oil is change at least once a week on the cookers! & we stock freshh food everyweek thank you.

by : samantha long : 23/10/2010 14:13:51



also to add to my comment below the resteraunt has been redecareted and cleen carpets!!

by : samantha long : 23/02/2010 17:31:20



hey, as not many of you know it is under new managment since christmas!! all you who have been driven awaay by the old very unfriendly manager then don't be afraid to come back as the new owners are very friendly and polite :) x

by : samantha long : 21/02/2010 17:39:56



IF your thinking of a meal at this pub you would do well to check out the kitchen . if you value your health id give it a miss profit comes before public health concernes

by : b. pauls : 11/10/2008 21:02:26



THE royal oak has now been leased to new owners .some say the meals are not a patch on what they were now

by : b.Pauls : 07/10/2008 14:08:11



Lovely food, 1st time i went there i had a mixed grill but by gosh i couldnt eat it all as it was to much with chips lol. so now i have mini mixed grill which is nearly as big, Staff are lovely there. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

by : dean + paula : 12/09/2008 13:14:09



My family and friends have been to the royal oak on many occ[swearing]ions and found it faultless, The food has always been more than enough for us and the quality and value for money is superb. The staff have always been polite and service is pretty good too!well done the royal oak ,you have many many happy customers and we love the monday madness aswell .........

by : denise : 12/05/2008 14:58:44



have had food twice in this pub and couldnt fault it. the waiting staff rushed off their feet but remained polite. excellant place

by : adrian : 13/05/2007 18:37:13



This lovely pub has what must be the unfriendliest landlord in Britain ! He growled at us as we entered, talked disparingly about us as we ate and growled again as we left. The food was p[swearing]able and the decor dated.

by : Mary A : 04/05/2007 15:22:02



Add a comment

your name

your email

copy this code : 5QJCU your comments