Please email your own review to the editor. If any facts of the review are incorrect please contact the editor. This page was edited on 29 June 2005.

The Marine

Also known as the Marine holiday flatlets and anchor bar.

A pub in prime position on the seafront of Porthcawl with tables outside. The pub is large inside with a bar in the front and games rooms out the back with pool, games machines and bar football.

The sell basic beers and plenty of alcocraps, no meals served. Dodgy ham rolls.

My Opinion

I hate the Marine. If anyone can email me a single thing worth liking then maybe I will change my mind.

Simple, if you like beer and conversationáand dislike young lager drinkers and contractorsáthen stay away.

If you don't then piss off my site.

Warning, beware the landlady, she has been known to ban someone and never, never forget.

written : 29/06/2005

Ratings: 12 out of 50

Beer : 2

Food : 1

Atmosphere : 3

Service : 2

Facilities/Entertaiment : 4

Details

The Esplanade

Porthcawl

Bridgend

CF36 3YR

01656 783492

map

Comments

Not really sure what your problem has been. The beer is fine, live music is great and theyve got a big screen for the football. If you want to sit in an Olde Worlde pub drinking Bishop's Finger with no kids allowed in you do that. Maybe you should reconsider your role as singlehanded crusader for undrinkable ales and empty pubs about to get the axe from a ruthless pub cooperative. Why don't you just stay in with your Mum and Dad watching Midsomer Murders and reminiscing the 'good old days'

by : Glen Matlock : 21/10/2014 10:50:16



ONE OF THE BEST LIVE MUSIC VENUES INPORTHCAWL ! Really busy generally do must be doing something right

by : Ian Faith : 21/10/2014 10:32:40



Good bar back in the 70's.

by : Chiang Mai Chris : 20/02/2011 18:03:38



I would rather be crucified than give my money to the marine. A filthy dive, very rude staff, known as the 'star wars bar' because it's full of freaks.

by : Jonny Evans : 04/02/2011 14:57:19



I USED TO LOVE GOING IN THERE THEN I LEFT PORTHCAWL WHEN I WENT BACK FOR A VISIT IT WAS STILL AS GOOD BUT WHERE HAVE ALL THE ROCKERS GONE FROM THER OH YEAH THEY ALL GOT BANNED

by : rach : 08/09/2007 14:52:33



The place is a s**thole always has been, whoever the "regular" is, I bet it is only on his day release he goes there.

by : : 14/04/2007 10:40:22



The place is a s**thole always has been, whoever the "regular" is, I bet it is only on his day release he goes there.

by : : 14/04/2007 10:36:57



Nope, I have never been banned, am glad to say that you sound like exactly the sort of person who drinks there. There are no decent beers, no decent locals and no atmosphere. Very impressive you know the landlady's name, how about Rob, Faye and Karl? Impressed?

by : pubopinion : 27/03/2007 13:30:09



Absolute bollocks.I've been a regular at the marine for over 20 years and will continue to do so. You must be one of the pricks that Mary the "Landlady" you refer to has had the pleasure of banning. Fucking idiot

by : : 27/03/2007 13:26:38



Your right about the marine here! and the landlady has banned a few of my mates, that was 3-4 years ago, they still cant go in, she remembers every face!

by : anon.



Add a comment

your name

your email

copy this code : 4UYV5 your comments